You are here

AeRO Update

The countdown has begun – less than 50 days until eResearch Australasia kicks off in Melbourne.

There’s an amazing lineup on offer this year at #eRes2018.

Check our the provisional program at that includes:

A reminder that submissions for Posters, ePosters and Solutions Showcases are open until 24 August, so there’s still time to submit your abstract. The final posters will be due closer to the conference, so submit a poster abstract to share your eResearch news and activities.

 You can access the conference website at and via social media at

 We look forward to seeing you in Melbourne!

eResearch Conference Organising Committee


UNSW Research Technology Services Joins AeRO

The Australasian eResearch Organisations (AeRO) is very excited to announce that University of New South Wales (UNSW) – Research Technology Services (RTS) has joined AeRO as a Full Member.

Research Technology Services, part of the Division of Research, was established in 2017. RTS leads eResearch strategy at UNSW and provides shared research computing, data and training support to their research community. Core services include; access schemes and expert technical advice for HPC and cloud computing, support for large or complex datasets, and training and engagement activities such as code optimisation, Hacky Hours and procurement consulting.

AeRO membership signifies UNSW RTS’s leading role and strategic commitment to Australian eResearch. RTS Director, Luc Betbeder-Matibet confirmed “Joining AeRO is a logical step as we develop our eResearch program and engage with the wider community. AeRO provides us with additional access to advocacy, coordination and integration activities making it an excellent partner given our current evolving National landscape.”

AeRO CEO Sam Moskwa is excited that RTS is joining. “UNSW Research Technology Services is a highly-respected innovative organisation at the forefront of eResearch. We are delighted to welcome RTS as one of our first 3 institutional members and I look forward to working together to address the needs of the eResearch workforce”.

CAUDIT has been a long-standing AeRO member, and AeRO invites other higher education institutions, eResearch organisations and projects to join UNSW RTS, University of Queensland Research Computing Centre and University of Auckland as AeRO members. For more information, visit the AeRO Membership webpage or contact

Sam Moskwa