You are here

CCA Digital Literacy Working Group


The purpose of the Working Group, which is made up of members from CAUDIT, CAUL and ACODE, is to provide advice and guidance to CCA Association Executive and members on addressing digital literacy requirements in member institutions, taking into consideration the needs of Association members, Association Strategic Plans and objectives given by the Joint CCA Executive Committee.


  1. To define the digital literacy requirements of staff (academic and professional) in member institutions.
  2. To develop a set of guiding principles reinforcing the importance of improving digital literacy in higher education participants.
  3. To develop a framework, suitable for use on an ongoing basis, for describing standards of digital literacy
  4. Conduct a periodic review, as appropriate, to meet changing needs.


  • An agreed definition of "digital literacy" in the context of the disciples covered by the three Associations.
  • An agreed Statement of Principles.
  • Toolkit describing the digital literacies required in 2015 by a high-functioning staff member at a member institution.
  • Guidelines for institutions.
  • List of relevant material.


The Working Group shall be composed in the following manner:

1.  A Chair apppointed by the Working Group members.
2.  Up to 4 members, drawn from the Executive of each Association:

  • CAUDIT:  Chris Bridge, Director, Information Technology Services, Queensland Uuniversity of Technology
  • CAUL:      Sue Hutley, Director, Library Services, Queensland University of Technology
  • ACODE:  Nigel Robertson, Team Leader, Waikato Centre for eLearning, University of Waikato

3.  Excutive Support: CAUL Communication & Policy Officer

Reporting and Communication

The Chair will provide a preliminary report to the Executives of CAUDIT, CAUL and ACODE by 9 September 2015.

The Chair will provide a final report to the Executives of CAUDIT, CAUL and ACODE by 26 October 2015

In general communication between the Working Group and the membership of constituent groups shall be through each Association's CEO or Executive Officer.

Terms of Reference

Terms of reference.