You are here

2019 AMM Wollongong Presentations

2019 CAUDIT Autumn Members Meeting - Agenda

MEETING THEME: What’s on the other side of ‘the Tipping Point’?

DAY 1: Wednesday 22 May 
Location: Norfolk Rooms
Note 1: THETA concludes with lunch commencing at 12:40pm.
Note 2: Sessions coloured ‘red’ are closed.  i.e. members only.
Note: Some sessions are presented via video.



From 1:30pm (30 min)

Registration / Networking
Tea and coffee will be available in the foyer of the rooms

2:00pm (05 min)


Anne Kealley

2:05pm (05 min)


Anne Kealley

2:10pm (05 min)

Outline of the two days + Acknowledgement of Country

Gina White
President, CAUDIT

2:15pm (40 min)

Part 1: STUDENTS AS AGENTS OF CHANGE: taking on Societal Change by Transfer of Authority
Part 2: WALK THIS WAY: Where we are and where we want to be, how Transfer of Authority by engaging Students as Partners can improve curriculum design in Higher Education

Christel Brost
Head of Section, Humanities, Languages and Cultural Production, Malmö University & THETA keynote speaker

2:55pm (30 min)

Collaboration: our pathway to enduring success

Bala Kathiresan
CEO, BCNET, British Columbia, Canada

3:25pm (20 min)

Afternoon Tea / Networking
Tea and coffee will be available in the foyer of rooms

3:45pm (25 min)

CAUDIT Strategic Initiative Update – Professional Development

Anne Kealley

Liz Gosling
CIO, AUT and Member, CPD Working Group

4:10pm (05 min)


President, CAUDIT

5:00pm (120 mins)

Inaugural CAUDIT Awards Presentation
Location:  Admirals Room, ground floor

Sponsored by:



Results Group International

Drobox Business



DAY 2: Thursday 23 May 2018
Location: Illawarra Room



8:30am (30 min)

Registration / Networking
Tea and coffee will be available in in the foyer of room

8:55am (5 min)

Housekeeping and Welcome to the Day’s Speakers

Anne Kealley

9:00am (15 min)

Technology driving Education: Taming the Hydra

Bruce Callow
Chief Digital Officer, Griffith University

9:15am (20 min)

Transformational Experiences – the CAUDIT Leadership Institute

Sarah Chaloner
Head of Information Communication Technology, UTS:Insearch

Kerrie Campbell
Chief Information Officer, Flinders University

9:35am (25 min)

CAUDIT Strategic Initiative Update – Australasian HE Cybersecurity Services

Anne Kealley

Scott Sorley
Executive Director, ICT Services, University of Southern Queensland

Ed Butler
General Manager, Managed Services, AARNet

David Stockdale
Director, AusCERT and Deputy Director, IT Infrastructure Operations, UQ

10:00am (30 min)

The Cyber Threat Environment

Derek D
Assistant Secretary, Attorney-General's Department

10:30am (30 min)

Morning Tea / Networking
Tea and coffee will be available in the foyer of room

11:00am (30 min)

Telecommunications Sector Security Reform

Derek D
Assistant Secretary, Attorney-General's Department

11:30 (40 min)


Anne Kealley, Chief Executive Officer
Steve Johnston
, Director, Strategic Procurement
Steven Wojnarowski
, Director, Analytics & Strategic Initiatives

12:10pm (10 min)

My eQuals – Future Direction Update

Jay Segeth
Program Director, HES

12:20pm (40 min)

Light lunch / Networking
Lunch will be available in in the foyer.

Those members of BMAC that are at the AMM will meet with Ovum during the lunch break.

1:00am (30 min)

Beyond 2020 - inhabiting the future university landscape

Richard Palmer
Practice Lead, Public Sector, Ovum

1:30pm (15 min)

Launch of CAUDIT HE EA Business Reference Model v2.0

Mac Lemon, Managing Director, FromHereOn

Nigel Foxwell, Head Enterprise Architecture, Strategy and Risk
James Cook University

jeff kennedy, Enterprise Architecture Manager
University of Auckland

1:45pm (30 min)

Research Support – What Comes Next? Part I ARDC

Ian Duncan
Acting Executive Director, Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC)

Dr Michelle Barker
Director, Skilled Workforce and Partnerships, Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC)

2:15pm (30 min)

Research Support –What comes next from AARNet? Part II

Dr Carina Kemp
Director, eResearch, AARNet

2:45pm (30 min)

Research Support – What Comes Next? Part III  Intersect@10 – the decade ahead.  Research Faster

Marc Bailey
CEO, Intersect

Jonathan Arthur
National Services Manager, Intersect Australia

Richard Frawley
Executive Consultant, Blackink Networks

3:15pm (05 min)


Gina White
President, CAUDIT



3:30pm depart

Coach transport to Sydney airport

Departs from the venue

Recommended arrival and departure flights


If not attending THETA, those travelling via direct flights / from nearby cities will be able to travel to Wollongong on the morning of Day 1 of the meeting.  The meeting start time on Day 1 is 2:00pm with registration from 1:30pm.


Transport to the airport will depart from the meeting venue at 3:30pm on Day 2.  This should enable flight departures any time after 6:30pm.

Information on recommended departure flights and transfer times to suit the above is available here.